The Hacker Project - a free online game

HP Info Terminal => F.A.Q. => Topic started by: siremi on April 25, 2009, 03:50:30 PM



Title: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: siremi on April 25, 2009, 03:50:30 PM
Works like this:

Go to "Your ability", look for Standing: xxx Next Rank: xxx

When you get the new faction rank, you get X ability points, depending on the difference between previous rank and current rank.

So if you are 0 standing, and get a new rank at 1000 standing, you will receive 1 ability points.
On next rank, you will need 3000 standing, so you will get (3000 - 1000)/1000 = 2 ability points, to a total of 3 ability points so far.

As you progress in rank, it gets tougher to achieve the next rank, and if you change faction before achievement of next rank you will reset the current faction standing, but won't lose the ability points and skills you already have, but may lose some progress to next rank.

When you change faction, the skill % you learned from that faction stays with you and is active, but you won't be able to increase the skill until you rejoin that faction.

For example, if you have 2000 / 3000 standing, and change faction, you will lose that standing and have to start from newbie rank again when you come back. But, you won't lose the 1 ability point you got at 1000 standing.

If you have negative standing to a faction and wish to join them, you will have to work your standing up until it's positive. You won't gain ranks and abilities until you work your standing to a positive level. Think of it as community work :)

Also, for skills, the more you increase a skill, the more ability points it will require. Skills have importance levels, and some may be harder to increase then others. There is also a max % you can have, usually 50% for "General" skills and 75% for "Faction" skills.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: gs 059 on April 25, 2009, 04:41:42 PM
so if I get to the first rank (1000 standing) and than leave, I come back later and have 0 standing, but still have the one ability point. and when I get to the first rank again, do I get a new ability point, or do I just keep the one I already have from it?


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Sin15698 on April 25, 2009, 06:13:59 PM
I think you get another one.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Ginjitsu on April 25, 2009, 07:02:43 PM
Question.....When you use your AP and increase a skill....does it take affect immediately on any current processes running or only on new processes??


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: gs 059 on April 25, 2009, 07:24:31 PM
Question.....When you use your AP and increase a skill....does it take affect immediately on any current processes running or only on new processes??

and I am asuming ap = ability point not action point this time right?


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Sin15698 on April 25, 2009, 08:30:48 PM
Question.....When you use your AP and increase a skill....does it take affect immediately on any current processes running or only on new processes??

and I am asuming ap = ability point not action point this time right?
Yes
Question.....When you use your AP and increase a skill....does it take affect immediately on any current processes running or only on new processes??
I would think it would only affect new processes.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Triadian on April 25, 2009, 09:29:59 PM
Question.....When you use your AP and increase a skill....does it take affect immediately on any current processes running or only on new processes??

Confirmed that a timers currently running are not affected by any changes#

any FP's spent will only affect process started AFTER the change.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Cookie_II on April 30, 2009, 12:07:23 PM
The one good thing about this post is that I was thinking of changing fractions at some point to earn different abilities. I thought that you would keep whatever you earned from any other fraction. What I did not know was that I will not be able to increase that ability when I change fractions. Thanks Emi


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Araeus on May 01, 2009, 04:20:10 PM
When you change faction, the skill % you learned from that faction stays with you and is active, but you won't be able to increase the skill until you rejoin that faction.

For example, if you have 2000 / 3000 standing, and change faction, you will lose that standing and have to start from newbie rank again when you come back. But, you won't lose the 1 ability point you got at 1000 standing.

Question.  If I switch from Icarus, resetting my standing to 0, and came back, would I get an ability point at 1000 faction again?


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Sin15698 on May 01, 2009, 10:38:26 PM
It was brought to my attention that when you change factions your standing is "reset" but what if your standing was negetive when you switched? Would it go back to 0?


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Araeus on May 02, 2009, 04:44:21 AM
If you have negative standing to a faction and wish to join them, you will have to work your standing up until it's positive. You won't gain ranks and abilities until you work your standing to a positive level. Think of it as community work :)


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Sin15698 on May 02, 2009, 03:21:40 PM
Yes, I know that, but if you join a faction you have negative standing in then leave it, would the negative rep be reset just as the positive would of?


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Triadian on May 02, 2009, 03:29:58 PM
Yes, I know that, but if you join a faction you have negative standing in then leave it, would the negative rep be reset just as the positive would of?

i decided to test this

i was icarus - quite high cant remem how high

i joined true light icarus went to 0 true light stayed at -28604

i left TL and rejoined icarus - icarus stayed at 0 and true light stayed at -28604



Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Sin15698 on May 02, 2009, 03:32:14 PM
Okay, thats good then.  :16:


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Josh on June 03, 2009, 02:56:01 PM
I have had 0% on all abilities since abilities have been implemented.  This means -5 and -10 on the general abilities, and -1 and -3 on the faction abilities.  Is this normal?  Before the last Revelation day, I lost the ability to collect from my spam viruses.  Is my situation a bug or feature?


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Exousia on June 03, 2009, 03:25:21 PM
I have had 0% on all abilities since abilities have been implemented.  This means -5 and -10 on the general abilities, and -1 and -3 on the faction abilities.  Is this normal?  Before the last Revelation day, I lost the ability to collect from my spam viruses.  Is my situation a bug or feature?

The "negative" amounts are the price to upgrade that ability by 1%. You only gain faction standing (and ability points) by completing faction missions. That means Recover Codes and Search and Destroy. Deletes and other missions do not count.

Hope this explanation helps.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Triadian on June 03, 2009, 06:03:39 PM
Before the last Revelation day, I lost the ability to collect from my spam viruses.  Is my situation a bug or feature?

you didnt lose the ability to collect from them
you were collecting from them but the money was being taken from your own account.

if you put your virii on any server except your own then you should notice an increase in cash when collecting. if you put your virii on another players server then you will only gain money if that player has any money to take.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: basit1218 on March 06, 2010, 09:25:17 PM
hey can anyone tell me how to increase ur faction standing ? i mean wat i gotta do ?


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Exousia on March 06, 2010, 11:45:39 PM
hey can anyone tell me how to increase ur faction standing ? i mean wat i gotta do ?

Secret Faction Missions available at your chosen faction's secret servers. You will need some better software than the beginner stuff, however, especially for the Seek and Destroy missions. You will receive HPD, AP, and some faction standing upon successful completion. You will also lose standing with the targeted faction.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: bontrose on March 07, 2010, 11:36:49 AM
so if you want faction standing go to a secret board accept a mission and do what it says


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Brok Ironfist on March 07, 2010, 12:11:51 PM
hey can anyone tell me how to increase ur faction standing ? i mean wat i gotta do ?

Basit,

First thing you need to do is click on the [Factions Info] button on the left side.  Make sure that you have selected the faction you want to work for.  If I recall correctly, new players start with no faction selected.    New players start out as True Light.  (Thanks Tri).

Once you have selected a faction.  Click on the [IP Database] button on the left side.  Across the top of the new page you will see several buttons. 

[All Servers]   [Public]   [Secret] etc...

Choose the one that says [Faction]

Hopefully you will a list of IP addresses and server names.  You should notice that these also have an orange tag to the right of their name with the word (faction)  in parens.  These indicate that they are your faction servers.  If you do not have any IP addy's of your faction, message me in game and I'll send a couple (let me know what faction you chose).

Okay.  Now that you know your faction servers, click on the [Connect] button next to one of them.

At the bottom of the newly connected server you will see a nice red button with the words [Secret Faction Board].

Click on that.

You will now be presented with 0-5 missions.  Depending on if they have already been completed in the last 45 minutes or so, you may not see any at all.

If you do, click on Review, make sure your software is high enough to complete the mission and then accept if it is.  Then follow the instructions on completing the missions.

If you notice that missions being gone frequently or you are unable to finish them before someone else, you may wish to switch factions and try another one.  Note: you can only switch factions once per day.

Hope this helps.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Triadian on March 07, 2010, 08:58:09 PM

  If I recall correctly, new players start with no faction selected.



nope all players start as true light


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: bontrose on March 08, 2010, 04:32:45 PM
f I recall correctly, new players start with no faction selected.
TR


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: łħά-∆9 on May 06, 2010, 05:43:20 PM
True....Right?

It's Light bonny...  :19:


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Tartarus on May 06, 2010, 11:26:58 PM
Actually, Alpha, it's True Right. It's one of the many, many new factions Bontrose is hoping to have implemented. At this rate, he'll have three factions for every registered account.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: bontrose on May 07, 2010, 02:54:00 PM
8... and a new number system based on eight
1   2  3    4   5   6  7   8
9   10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24
ect. but w/ new #s


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Triadian on May 07, 2010, 03:30:47 PM
8... and a new number system based on eight
1   2  3    4   5   6  7   8
9   10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24
ect. but w/ new #s

oh god he flunked maths too. octadecimal is hardly new....


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Tartarus on May 07, 2010, 06:36:28 PM

8... and a new number system based on eight
1   2  3    4   5   6  7   8
9   10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24
ect. but w/ new #s
oh god he flunked maths too. octadecimal is hardly new....

Darn, you beat me to it!


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: bontrose on May 07, 2010, 06:51:25 PM
ehh i just think eights are simpler


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Triadian on May 07, 2010, 07:06:09 PM
ehh i just think eights are simpler

well binary is even more simpler

there are 10 types of people who understand binary, those who do and those who dont. (have fun with that one bonbon)


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Exousia on May 07, 2010, 07:23:03 PM
I grew up on hex, octal, and binary. That's what I get for being raised by feral engineers.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Brok Ironfist on May 07, 2010, 08:04:59 PM
LOL... When I was in computer class our teacher had a binary clock.  He made us learn it.

I got so good at it that I could read it better and ended up liking it better than a regular clock.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: BB Grim on March 29, 2013, 11:32:44 AM
Can Abilities be reset, ie..the list of Abilities you chose be changed with the points put in different slots?
Can you only upgrade Abilities are specialties specific to your faction? It doesn't look that way at first glance.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: asdfth12 on March 29, 2013, 12:50:19 PM
You can reset a ability to recover 50% of the points used.

Abilities are divided into two groups - All factions, and faction based. The ones that are all faction abilities can be upgraded no matter what faction your currently apart of. The ones that are faction based you have to be in that faction in order to upgrade them.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: BB Grim on March 29, 2013, 04:00:38 PM
Is it a good idea to spend those points early on, or save them a while? Also, is it advisable to spend PvP Points on Ability Points? What about action points, and when I see Cost AP to modify a log entry, is that Action Points or Ability Points. I assume it is Action Points, as that would be horrifically expensive if it was the Ability Points. Where can I find out how many Action Points I have?


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: asdfth12 on March 29, 2013, 07:19:32 PM
Is it a good idea to spend those points early on, or save them a while? Also, is it advisable to spend PvP Points on Ability Points? What about action points, and when I see Cost AP to modify a log entry, is that Action Points or Ability Points. I assume it is Action Points, as that would be horrifically expensive if it was the Ability Points. Where can I find out how many Action Points I have?

AP = Action Points.

I don;t think ability points has a abbreviation in game, but it would be AbP if it did.

PVP points aren't directly traded for Abiity points though - You trade the pvp points for faction standing. 1k standing gets you 1 bility point when you level up.

Action points are shown on the top left of the page - Just under the HP logo. It says Time: ???? AP. The ???? are your action points. They regen @1 a minute, with a max regen of 3k. This is only how many you will regenerate though - Your total points can be much higher then that, your just not going to regenerate them once you have more then 3k stored.

Your current number of ability points is shown under your ability.


Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: Master Shake on August 19, 2013, 03:45:54 PM
 I really hate to necro something, but I figured this would be the place for my question.

For the Icarus faction (and possibly others, I haven't looked), there are several ability upgrade options that make no sense-

Log UnDeleter runtime
The software will run faster for you

How does an Undeleter work faster? It's one click- it either works or it doesn't. No timer involved, so it cannot run faster.

Firewall Protect runtime
The software will run faster for you

Same as above. It's either running or it's not. No timer.

Am I missing something, or are these just pointless sinks to take up space and make the factions look equal in power?



Title: Re: Ability points and faction standing
Post by: MasterKay on August 19, 2013, 05:20:12 PM
All software specialization abilities decrease research time.  For those, that is ALL it does.

Maybe it's just me. I could be ignorant.

"The software will run faster for you"
Log Deleter runtime
Firewall Bypass runtime
Log UnDeleter runtime
Unhide Files runtime

How exactly do these run faster? Or am I correct in thinking it's a waste of points?

Sorry it took four years for you to get your answer. >.<